How to best start in exercising for a young woman

• Author
    #17748 |

I only just saw this group and I know my bf wants me to get into a healthy lifestyle of exercise and everything else he's into. You see he's one of those gym junkies lol
    I want to make sure I'm going to start off in the right way and not follow his suggestions as his are going to be about bulking and for guys. I don't want big bulging muscles.
    Is there a real life person who really does know the difference in how a woman should start doing the gym junkie thing in the right way?

• Dana

Hi Bella,

I believe I am qualified to answer your question :)

Regardless of whether you are male or female, if you're a beginner to exercise, it's wise to start slow. But first, let me demystify a couple of things…

First – women don't normally bulk up the way men do, so strength training is great and will give you shape and lean mass. As a beginner, I would say to start doing lighter weights at 15-20 reps until it burns and progress once this becomes too easy.

Second – I don't know anything about your current starting point, but I will tell you that form is everything. If you decide to hire a trainer, even for a couple of sessions, consider looking for one who is well-qualified (either university degree in exercise science, NSCA or ACSM certified). Also check reviews.

But even more importantly – what do you like to do? Because this is the best way to incorporate healthy living.

Hope this helps :)
    And feel free to respond if you have more questions.

• Bella

oh thank you so much Dana for giving me your thoughts.
      I do like the idea of my boyfriend Eric in weights and toning. Before I start on them, I'm going to take your advice too and do a little research in good form. Always wise as you say to do some homework.
      Can I ask another question on cardio? I'm a small frame with little body fat so is cardio an important part of toning with weights?

• Dana

Hi Bella,
        Glad to help.